That's me

When both of your parents are swimming coaches, water is your first natural environment - you learn to swim even before you can walk and it becomes omnipresent - your first love.  My name is Maria Ugolkova, I was born in Moscow in the middle of summer 1989. At that time, Michael Gorbachev was showing the world "perestroika" and "glasnost", and the Soviet Union was opening up. The municipal indoor swimming pool was where I spent most of my time – I could already swim at the age of two.

Since then swimming has become my life. 

________

When I was 16, I moved to Switzerland with my mother following her work as a swimming coach in Lugano. The next years were spent swimming, going to school, and more swimming. Italian language and lifestyle became my second love: the joy of life, exuberance, the good taste, southern culture, the musicality of the language and the cuisine. Ticino became my second home. I did my high school diploma at the Liceo Lugano and the same year (2009) I went to my first World Championship in Rome with the Russian National Swimming team. At that time, I already held 3 national Russian records. I thank my mother, who was my first coach until then, for all that success. 

 

________

 

At the age of 20, I moved to Lausanne to study economics at the local university and start swimming for Lausanne Natation. My mother stayed in Ticino. In 2012, I took part in European Championships for the last time as a member of the Russian national team. Two years later, I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and one more language - French. 

________

In the summer of 2014, I then moved to pursue my studies to the German-speaking part of Switzerland, to Zurich. As a student, aged 24 and quadrilingual, I was facing the decision of whether to continue swimming or not. 

The Uster Wallisellen swimming club helped me in taking this decision. I found my new coach and my motivation. And at the same time, I studied for my Master’s degree in Banking and Finance at the University of Zurich.

 

________

In 2015, I became a Swiss citizen and have been swimming for Switzerland since then. Once at the Olympic Games in Rio 2016, three times at World Championships – in 2015, 2017 and 2019. And twice at European Championships – in 2016 and 2018.

________

There are two European Championship medals and a Master’s degree in Banking and Finance hanging on the wall at my home in Uster. My strength is versatility. At the beginning of my career I was swimming butterfly and freestyle races. Now, the 200-meter medley  became my main race. My career is currently on the up and the feeling is good. Olympic Games in Tokyo 2021, postponed because of the COVID-19, has been noted in my calendar.

________

200 m Individual Medley

       Queen of swimming – 4 disciplines in one competition 

50m

Butterfly

Butterfly is my favorite. I like it the most. It’s not easy and works better if you swim it fast. That’s why it feels intense and natural in competition.

START                                                                ========>

50m

Backstroke

Backstroke feels like a relationship with a friend. It always works – regardless of my form.

<========

50m

Breaststroke

Breaststroke was a very exhausting relationship at the beginning. I had to invest a lot in this discipline. The technic is one of the most difficult to understand. Since I know more about it today, I can swim it faster with less effort.

========>

50m

Freestyle

Front crawl is my stable relationship. It is the one that I swim most on every training. It gives me a feeling of security and it is always there to make a winning finish. An intensive relationship.

Finish                                                                <========

My Team

Coach

Pablo Kutscher

Pablo has been my coach since 2014. The elite team coach of SC Uster Wallisellen says: “Maria is like a fish. She combines everything: a love of water, talent, will and discipline. She is incredibly competitive. A pretty perfect match. As a coach, I can learn something from her every day and I am really excited about what is still to come. No limits!”

Portrait_Rene%C3%8C%C2%81_edited.jpg

Masseur

René Albertin

René makes sure that I can train without any complaints and perform optimally in competitions. After 20 years’ experience working with top athletes at Swiss Aquatics and Swiss Triathlon, he has been looking after me for two years and says: "Maria is the perfect professional athlete. Her feeling for her body and her muscles is impressive, precise and clear."

Fitness Coach

Joachim Staub

Joachim is responsible for my fitness shape. He works in the field of sport and health at EPFL and the University of Lausanne, and has been looking after me since my time in Lausanne – since 2010.

He says: “Maria is an exceptional athlete with exceptional qualities. She is able to move forward with the wind or against the wind and successfully manages her career, always ready to take a step back to make the best of every situation and learn from it.”

Photo_le_13.07.20_a%C3%8C%C2%80_20_edite

Management

Daniela Gisler

 

Daniela advises world-class athletes, supporting them in all aspects – from concept to implementation and from media communication to marketing. Since 2011, she has been Managing Partner of samm group AG and since 2020, owner and Managing Director of Daniela Gisler Sportmanagement & Kommunikation. 

Daniela Gisler has been working with me since March 2020.

Das bin ich

Wenn die Mutter und der Vater Schwimmcoaches sind, dann ist Wasser so etwas wie ein Menschenrecht. Allgegenwärtig, die erste Liebe.

 

Mein Name ist Maria Ugolkova, ich bin mitten im Sommer ‘89 in Moskau zur Welt gekommen. Michael Gorbatschow zeigte der Welt gerade Perestroika und Glasnost, die Sowjetunion öffnete sich. Das städtische Hallenbad war mein Wohnzimmer - mit zwei konnte ich schwimmen.

 

Seither ist schwimmen ist mein Leben. 

________

Mit 16 zog ich mit meiner Mutter in die Schweiz, nach Lugano. Schwimmen, studieren, schwimmen. Italienisch wurde meine zweite Liebe. Die Lebensfreude, die Ausgelassenheit, la bella vita, die südlich geprägte Kultur, die Küche. Das Tessin ist heute noch so etwas wie meine zweite Heimat. Im Liceo Lugano habe ich meine Matura abgeschlossen. Im selben Jahr (2009) nahm ich zum ersten Mal mit der russischen Nationalmannschaft an einer Weltmeisterschaft - in Rom - teil. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte ich bereits drei russische Landesrekorde aufgestellt. Ich danke meiner Mutter, die bis dahin meine Trainerin war, für all diese Erfolge.

 

________

 

Mit 20 zog ich alleine nach Lausanne. An der Universität studierte ich Wirtschaft, schwamm neu für Lausanne Natation. Meine Mutter blieb im Tessin. Seither ist sie ganz einfach meine Mutter und nicht mehr primär mein Coach.  2012 nahm ich zum letzten Mal als Mitglied der russischen Nationalmannschaft an Europameisterschaften teil. Zwei Jahre später schloss ich mit dem Bachelor in Economy und einer Sprache mehr - nämlich französisch - ab. 

________

Im Sommer 2014 zog ich weiter – in die Deutschschweiz, nach Zürich. Studentin, 24, viersprachig, vor der Entscheidung: Schwimmen ja oder nein. 

Der Schwimmclub Uster Wallisellen nahm mir die Entscheidung ab. Ich fand meinen Trainer, mein sportliches Umfeld. Und an der Universität Zürich meine Masterausbildung in Banking und Finance.

 

________

2015 erhielt ich das Schweizer Bürgerrecht, seither schwimme ich für die Schweiz. Einmal an den Olympischen Spielen in Rio 2016, dreimal an Weltmeisterschaften – 2015, 2017 und 2019. Und zweimal an Europameisterschaften - 2016 und 2018.

 

________

Bei mir zuhause in Uster hängen zwei EM-Medaillen und ein Masterabschluss in Banking und Finance. Meine Stärke ist die Vielfalt. Nach dem Delphin und dem Freistil zu Beginn meiner Karriere sind die 200 Meter Lagen heute meine Hauptdisziplin – 200 Meter und vier Schwimmstile.

 

Meine Karrierekurve zeigt nach oben, das Gefühl stimmt. Tokio 2021 - die Olympischen Spiele, die aufgrund von Covid-19 verschoben worden sind - ist in meinem Kalender notiert.

________

Meine 200 Meter Lagen

Königin des Schwimmsports - 4 Disziplinen in einem  Wettkampf 

50m

Delphin

Der Delphin ist mein Liebling. Ich mag ihn am besten, obwohl ich ihn selten trainiere. Er ist nicht ganz einfach und gelingt besser, wenn man ihn schnell schwimmt. Darum fühlt er sich im Wettkampf intensiv und natürlich an.

START                                                                ========>

50m

Rückenschwimmen

Rückenschwimmen fühlt sich an wie die Beziehung zu einem Freund. Es funktioniert immer – ganz unabhängig von meiner Form.

<========

50m

Brustschwimmen

Brustschwimmen war am Anfang eine sehr anstrengende Beziehung. Ich musste viel in diese Disziplin investieren. Sie ist zudem schwierig zu verstehen. Da ich heute mehr weiss über sie, bin ich schneller - mit weniger Aufwand.

========>

50m

Freistilschwimmen

Brustcrawl ist meine stabile Beziehung. Er mir gibt Sicherheit, ist meistens da, wenn ich ihn brauche und ich trainiere ihn fast in jeder Trainingseinheit. Eine intensive Beziehung. 

ZIEL                                                                   <========

Mein Team

Coach

Pablo Kutscher

 «Pablo» trainiert mich seit 2014. Der Elitetrainer des SC Uster Wallisellen sagt:  «Maria ist wie ein Fisch. Bei ihr kommt alles zusammen: Liebe für das Wasser, Talent, Wille und Disziplin. Dazu ist sie unglaublich kompetitiv. Eine ziemlich perfekte Mischung. Ich kann als Trainer jeden Tag auch was von ihr lernen und bin sehr gespannt, was noch kommt. No limits!»

Portrait_Rene%C3%8C%C2%81_edited.jpg

Masseur

René Albertin

René sorgt dafür, dass ich beschwerdefrei trainieren und im Wettkampf die optimale Leistung abliefern kann. Nach 20 Jahren Erfahrung mit Spitzenathleten bei Swiss Aquatics und Swiss Triathlon betreut er mich seit zwei Jahren und sagt über mich: «Maria ist für mich die perfekte Profi-Sportlerin. Ihr Gefühl für ihren Körper, ihre Muskulatur, ist beeindruckend. Präzis und klar.»

Fitnesstrainer

Joachim Staub

Joachim ist für meine Fitness zuständig. Er ist im Bereich Sport und Gesundheit an der EPFL und an der Universität in Lausanne tätig  und  betreut mich seit meiner Zeit in Lausanne - seit 2010.

Er sagt: «Maria ist eine aussergewöhnliche Sportlerin mit aussergewöhnlichen Qualitäten. Sie ist in der Lage, sich mit dem Wind oder gegen den Wind vorwärts zu bewegen und managt ihre Karriere mit Bravour, immer bereit, einen Schritt zurückzutreten, um aus jeder Situation das Beste zu machen und daraus zu lernen.»

Photo_le_13.07.20_a%C3%8C%C2%80_20_edite

Management

Daniela Gisler

 

Daniela berät Weltklasse-Athletinnen und begleitet sie rundum – vom Konzept bis zur Umsetzung, von der Medienkommunikation bis zur Vermarktung. Seit 2011 als Managing Partnerin der samm group AG, seit 2020 als Daniela Gisler Sportmanagement & Kommunikation. 

 

Daniela Gisler arbeitet seit März 2020 mit mir.